A Product of William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
Close this search box.



The American Association of Law Libraries Names Three William S. Hein & Co., Inc. Products to the 2021 Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award

Melissa Beck, Melody Busse Lembke, Joan S. Howland, Scott B. Pagel, Michelle M. Wu, Douglas W. Lind, and Stacia Stein honored

June 4, 2021

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) recently announced the 2021 Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award winners. Co-authors Melissa Beck, head of cataloging at UCLA Law Library, and Melody Busse Lembke, retired associate director of the Law Library, Collection Services at the University of California, Irvine, have won for Cataloging Legal Literature, 5th edition.

Joan S. Howland, the Roger F. Noreen professor of law and associate dean for information & technology at the University of Minnesota Law Library, Scott B. Pagel, director of the law library, associate dean for information services, and professor of law at the Jacob Burns Law Library at George Washington University, and Michelle M. Wu, retired associate dean for library services and professor of law at Georgetown University Law School, are recipients for Academic Law Libraries Within the Changing Landscape of Legal Education: A Primer for Deans and Provosts.

Additionally, Douglas W. Lind, law library director and professor of law at Southern Illinois University Law Library, and Stacia Stein were honored as co-authors for The Leaven of Sympathy: A Bio-Bibliography of Frederick C. Hicks.

About the Andrews Award

Awarded annually, the Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award recognizes significant contributions—a book, pamphlet, periodical, website, database, or other publication—to legal literature. Nominations are evaluated on their creative elements, and the extent to which originality and judgment factored into the work’s creation.

“This year’s Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award winners provide valuable insights into essential practices of law and librarianship, with books on topics ranging from cataloging legal materials to identifying the needs of academic law library communities to a bio-bibliography of one of the founders of law librarianship, Frederick C. Hicks,” said AALL President Emily R. Florio. “These titles illustrate the essential role law librarians and legal information professionals play within the larger legal community. Congratulations to the authors for creating these essential literary works.”

About the Winners

Cataloging Legal Literature, 5th edition, addresses the current descriptive and subject cataloging practices for legal materials.

“The fifth edition of Cataloging Legal Literature (CLL) would not exist if the original coauthors had not led the way,” said Lembke. “Melissa Beck accepted the challenge to bring CLL into the twenty-first century with her expertise in serials, electronic resources, and RDA. Sheila Jarrett (shepherd of many editions) and Dan Rosati devoted numerous staff hours to the creation of the latest edition in a database in HeinOnline. I offer heartfelt thanks to the AALL for this recognition.”

“I am honored to be included in the list of persons who have authored Cataloging Legal Literature throughout the years,” said Beck. “The fifth edition upholds their tradition of critical thinking combined with practical solutions, and remains at its core a “think piece” for how to approach legal materials. I am ever grateful to Melody Lembke for inviting me along for this adventure, and for sharing her vision for law cataloging in the twenty-first century. I am also grateful to the lovely people at Hein for their endless support and encouragement as we moved to an online publishing environment. Thank you very much to AALL for this honor.”

Academic Law Libraries Within the Changing Landscape of Legal Education: A Primer for Deans and Provosts examines the factors involved in an analysis of what a community needs from their library, and demonstrates why the answer to these questions might vary from library to library.

“Scott, Michelle, and I are exceptionally appreciative to the AALL Awards Committee for this great honor,” said Howland. “We, of course, share the 2021 Andrews Award with the book’s other contributors who wrote excellent chapters, reflecting extensive knowledge, pragmatism, objectivity, and originality. I also extend my appreciation to AALL for the Association’s continuing recognition of the importance of scholarship to the development and growth of the law library profession. And, of course, I would like to thank William S. Hein & Company for its ongoing support of law librarians in all environments.”

“It was a privilege to work with Michelle and Joan to gather the thoughts of so many talented and knowledgeable colleagues,” said Pagel. “In these changing and challenging times, their voices have provided a touchstone to guide universities, law schools, and the law librarians that serve them through these days of uncertainty. It is wonderful that AALL has acknowledged the contributions of our many authors.”

“It is a great honor to receive the Joseph L. Andrews Award along with my co-editors Scott Pagel and Joan Howland,” said Wu. “The award is particularly meaningful as it is the result of the collaboration and dedication of many to bridge the information gap between libraries and other university leaders. Thanks to Scott, Joan, and all of our chapter authors for their contributions to this work, without whom this book would not have been possible.”

The Leaven of Sympathy: A Bio-Bibliography of Frederick C. Hicks, is the result of several years of archival and bibliographic research and provides a detailed examination of the life and works of one of the founders of the profession of law librarianship, Frederick C. Hicks.

“I am honored that our work was selected for the Andrews Award, and I am so fortunate that my co-author shared a passion for the life and writings of Fred Hicks; this made for an amazingly enjoyable two years of researching and writing,” said Lind.

“Frederick Hicks is a legend among law librarians,” said Stein. “His enthusiasm and advocacy forever altered the landscape of law librarianship. Uncovering more of his story was a true delight.”

For more information about AALL’s Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award, visit bit.ly/AALL-andrews.

About William S. Hein & Co., Inc.

William S. Hein & Co., Inc. is a leading digital publishing company that has been serving the library community for nearly 100 years. Hein is a highly respected publisher of original legal publications, a major reprinter of legal classics and out-of-print United States Government Printing Office documents, and the world’s largest distributor of legal periodicals. The company is also a prominent electronic service provider—its product, HeinOnline, is one of the fastest-growing online research databases, featuring more than 190 million pages of research material and gaining subscribers in more than 175 countries. Having built a reputation for excellence in image-based legal research, HeinOnline delivers a wealth of information with more historical content than any other database. More information is available here: wshein.com

About AALL

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) is the only national association dedicated to the legal information profession and its professionals. Founded in 1906 on the belief that people—lawyers, judges, students, and the public—need timely access to relevant legal information to make sound legal arguments and wise legal decisions, its more than 4,000 members are problem solvers of the highest order. AALL fosters the profession by offering its members knowledge, leadership, and community that make the whole legal system stronger. More information is available here: aallnet.org

Contact Information

Benjamin N. Boron
Marketing Manager
William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
Getzville, NY 14068
(716) 882-2600 x. 104

Customer Training Session